Frost flowers – and a stealth seal

Frost frustrated me at times last night as it covered the lens of my telescope and hid the view of the universe – and frost frustrated me again this morning as I had to pull over twice on the way to Gooseberry to clear my windshield. (OK, I should have done a better job while the car was in the driveway. But when I got to Gooseberry frost turned out to be the whole show – and what a beautiful show it was.  Combine heavy frost and the sun finding some slots in the clouds to peek through and you have a formula for a beautiful walk.  And no I didn’t see the seal – as I say, it was a stealth seal.  I walked out onto the Southeast Beach, saw some distant ducks, took some pictures – saw a guy walking his dog nearby – no seal. But the guy caught up with me later and said I had missed the seal. It had  been on the beach, he said, and was about 30 yards out in the water when I was taking pictures.  (It was apparently scared into the water by his dog – darn it.) Seals are occasional winter visitors in our region – but I’ve never seen one off Gooseberry.

But as I say, the frost had my eye.  I especially liked how inviting it made this path.

The path that leads to Southeast Beach and the seal I didn't see - but my, isn't it inviting? (Click image for a larger view.)

And in the slideshow that follows I do recommend you click the “full” button beneath the picture for “full screen” viewing. I’m prejudice, but think the closeups are more interesting the bigger you make them.

This entry was posted in people, weather events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

