Wicked windy – but Monarchs and Maniacs are braving it!

The Monarchs, of course, are those little guys on a mission – to get from here to Mexico – and I saw five in about 15 minutes of strolling on the Northeast Beach yesterday afternoon. You wonder if they have the brain power to process information about how windy it is and the fact that the wind is blowing them east when they want to go west? I appreciate that somehow they can navigate from here to Mexico, but I don’t know what else their little central processors can handle -assuming they do, indeed, have a central processor.

What I do know is the winds were so high they had closed the causeway to motor traffic, so I walked out and when I turned to   get a picture of the waves breaking over Bar Rock I saw the Maniacs! Well, call them para-surfers, if  you want, they made a  beautiful picture scooting over the waves, being pulled by what amounts to huge, soft kites.  Really looked like it would be fun – if I were half my age – but I suspect even then I wouldn’t dare try this under these conditions. My guess, based on forecasts and reports, is that the gust were between 30 and 50 mph! Somehow, the Monarch sweren’t totally out of control – in fact, they seemed to have about as much control as these folks!  Hmmm. . . wonder if they have the brain pwoer to process information about how windy it is . . . 😉

Para-surfers off Horseneck Beach campground as seen from Gooseberry Causeway. (Click picture for larger image.

Para-surfers off Horseneck Beach campground as seen from Gooseberry Causeway. (Click picture for larger image.)

Para-surfers - click picture for larger version.

Para-surfers - click picture for larger version.

Oh – and for the record, here’s Bar Rock at low tide – but the picture doesn’t do the wind-generated turbulence justice.

Click image for larger version.

Click image for larger version.

This entry was posted in people. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

