Wham, bang zip – or flutter – either way I come up empty!

Boy – the few Monarchs we’re seeing don’t want to land  and I haven’t been able to  catch them  in the lens flying because the winds have kept them moving right along. That’s one frustration – saw two yesterday with no luck.

My second frustration is speeding falcons. I was watching the gulls drift over a small hilltop, moving fast but elegantly in the wind when suddenly a falcon went right through them and was off in seconds over Rhode Island Sound, heading west. I suspect this was a migrating Merlin, but by the time I got my lens on him all I could capture was little grey blob against a blue sky – very little shape showing.

I felt I did have some luck with what seems to be the dominant inland “wildlife,” Cabbage Whites and Cloudless Sulphurs.  We also saw a huge green caterpillar (3-4 inches long and smooth) crawling slowly across the road and my butterfly books has all the butterfly caterpillars as about half that size or less, so . . . ?

Anyway, my favorite shot of the morning is this one:

A pair of Cabbage Whites - click for larger images.

A pair of Cabbage Whites - click for larger images.

And I thought this was a pretty good take on the Cloudless Sulphur.

Cloudless Suklphur - click for larger image.

Cloudless Suklphur - click for larger image.

And this was our puzzle for the morning:

Eliza couldn't identify it - nor could we. (Click for larger image.)

Eliza couldn't identify it - nor could we. (Click for larger image.)

This entry was posted in butterflies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

