Six shore (but unsure) birds!

Well, I’m unsure – unsure of the shore birds 😉

Another beautiful morning walk at  Gooseberry and another afternoon of asking Bren to look over my shoulder and double check the bird guides as we both try to figure out from the photos I took exactly what we saw this morning walking along the eastern shore.  We found six shorebirds, four of them new to us, and what I really loved about the experience was how easily these little guys blend in with their environment. For example, can you find the shorebird in this first picture? (If they don’t move, we nearly have to stumble upon them to see them and I wonder how many folks just walk right by and never know what they have missed? When i furst looked at this picture I thought I must have taken it by mstake – nothing here but rocks!)

Yes, there's a shorebird here - click the image for a larger view - it will help.

Yes, there's a shorebird here - click the image for a larger view - it will help. (Hint - it's a Golden Plover almost dead center.)

OK – first up were two plovers – an American Golden which we have seen before, and a stunning black and white chap that I believe is a Black-bellied Plover – probably a juvenile, since the adult appears to be a bit duller. (As always, I stand ready to be enlightened by those wishing to comment and correct my observation.)

Click image for larger view. (American Golden Plover.)

Click image for larger view. (American Golden Plover.)

Black-bellied Plover - juvenile. Click image for larger view

Black-bellied Plover - juvenile. Click image for larger view

They are significantly larger than what we saw next, a mixed group that I believe was mostly Semipalmated Sandpipers, but included a couple Dunlins with long, droopy bills.

Semipalmated Sandpipers flanked by Dunlins - I believe. Click image for larger view.

Semipalmated Sandpipers flanked by Dunlins - I believe. Click image for larger view.

You have to admire the flight control of these sandpipers and plovers – I mean think of what a headache this would be for air traffic controllers!

A small gaggle of Semipalmated Sandpipers - I think. Click image for larger view.

A small gaggle of Stealth (Semipalmated) Sandpipers - I think. Click image for larger view. (Eevn flying they can be well camouflaged!)

These two looked like elder statesmen, standing off from the crowd. I believe they are Sanderlings.

Sanderling - on a rock by themselves. Click image for larger view.

Sanderlings on a rock by themselves. Click image for larger view.

Also off on his own was this Semipalmated Plover.

Semipalmated Plover. Click image for larger view.

Semipalmated Plover. Click image for larger view.

And  on the way back we wacthed this Dunlin – quite tame and in a world of his own. (I was out of space on my card, but I finally deleted a shot soI could get this one.)

Dunlin.

Dunlin.

Meanwhile, Eliza loves to feel the salt-air ruffling her “feathers.”

Eliza.

Eliza.

And last week the parking lot was loaded with bicyclists aiming to tour Westport. This week it was catamaran sailors aiming to explore Buzzard’s Bay.

Hope they satyed up right - thatw ater looked cold!

Hope they stayed up right - that water looked cold and the iwnd was stiff!

This entry was posted in sea birds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

