An Uncommom ‘Common’ Eastern Black Swallowtail

Big news today – A Harrier came scooting by too fast for me to get a picture – and, we saw the second Monarch of the month, but again, come and gone before I could get a picture, so . . .

Correct me if you can – it would be appreciated, but I believe today’s butterfly is a Common Eastern Black Swallowtail – but a rather uncommon example. That is he lacks the blue on the smaller wings and I don’t see an eyespot. But my little “Golden Guide to Butterflies and Moths” says the Swallowtail “has variable markings. Some males have hardly any blue on the hindwing. . .” Yep! “The spots may be larger or may be orange instead of yellow.” Uh huh – how about some of them being white? “. . .or the spots maybe greatly reduced.”

OK – given all those possibilities, this sure looks like a Common Eastern Black Swallowtail to me and it was behaving as they are supposed to behave -s taying low. And besides, I can’t find anything else that comes close to it. Take a look.

Click image to enlarge.

Click image to enlarge.

Click image to enlarge.

Click image to enlarge.

For me the tie-breaker was the "paw print" design on the hind wing - see inset. That shows in my guide as well. Click image to enlarge.

For me the tie-breaker was the "paw print" design on the hind wing - see inset. That shows in my guide as well. Click image to enlarge.

That’s all for today folks.

Click image to enlarge.

Click image to enlarge.

Except Eliza is still too excitable -even after her walk!

Click image to enlarge.

Click image to enlarge.

This entry was posted in butterflies, raptors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

