Gooseberry – where due east is – well, that-a-way!

We’re just two days – and less than two degrees – away from the autumnal equinox and the sun breaking the horizon at due east, so I went to Gooseberry for the sunrise this morning. I figure this way I’d get a sure lock on exactly what directions was east – and thus all the other directions out there. Trouble is, I now have that good idea – and I have the evidence in pictures – but I’m really not sure exactly where I’m looking.

First, here are the pictures, starting with a shot about half an hour before sunrise  that catches Venus high in the east – well, about four degrees south of east –  and when you looked with binoculars you could see it made a fine double star with first magnitude Regulus less than a degree away!

East is generally the irection of the boat ramp. (Click image to enlarge.)

East is generally the irection of the boat ramp. (Click image to enlarge.)

But look carefully at the islands off in the distance. These are in the general direction of Woods Hole and roughly 16 miles away.

(Click image to enlarge.)

(Click image to enlarge.)

(Click image to enlarge.)

(Click image to enlarge.)

(Click image to enlarge.)

(Click image to enlarge.)

At first I thought I was looking at the gap that is Woods Hole – the gap between Naushon Island and the mainland.  But now when I look at the map and the pictures, I’m wondering if I’m seeing a gap between Naushon and a little, unnamed island that lines up that way??? (Well, unnamed on Google Maps – more exploration of other maps shows it is Weepecket Island.)

So is the sun rising just to the right (south) of the little island named "???"

So is the sun rising just to the right (south) of the little island named "???" (Weepecket)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

